WITHDRAWING MONEY

Hi Everyone,

I am new to IG and would like some help on what you actually receive when you close your positions? Im struggling to understand if i receive my profit/loss or my margin? or is it my funds aswell?

any help would be great, ive tried calling IG but no luck.

Ryan

Hi Hutton, when you close a position your account is credit or debited with the profit/loss. Your margin used to keep the trade open is also returned to your account and can be used for another trade.

Example:

Account size 5.000£

Position:1£ Long FTSE100. The margin used for this position is 1.000£.

I close the position for a profit of 100£. 100£ is credit to my account. Account is now worth 5100£ - happy days.

IG then returns to you the 1000£ that you used as down payment to open the trade. You don't see the 1000£ credit or debited. This happens in the background. You can keep track of this by looking at the available margin in the trading platform.

https://www.ig.com/uk/help-and-support/spread-betting-and-cfds/margin/what-is-margin

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Member Statistics

• Total Topics
    • Total Posts
    • Total Members
    Newest Member
    valona
    Joined 02/12/20 23:45
    • Booktopia ASX BKG Could you please add this stock to IG trading so we can buy it. Thank you Alex