Buying US Stock

Complete noob here. Only signed on to buy a specific US stock.  IG tells me my information is incomplete for US trading, but doesn't offer any information on how to fix it.

Only says my 'form' is incomplete. I filled out the initial data, including id, so what else do I need to do now?

Again, literally first time, any help gratefully received.

Hi AdelaideNigel

To trade US shares you will need to complete the W-8BEN form. 

Log into your account, go to your MyIG dashboard > Settings > Trading US shares. 
There is an arrow to the right of the screen that takes you to the form to complete.  

If you have any difficulty in setting up your W-8BEN form for trading US shares then please email the helpdesk with a screenshot to illustrate where you're stuck. 

Trading US shares.png

On 25/09/2020 at 18:12, Fiona-IG said:

Hi AdelaideNigel

To trade US shares you will need to complete the W-8BEN form. 

Log into your account, go to your MyIG dashboard > Settings > Trading US shares. 
There is an arrow to the right of the screen that takes you to the form to complete.  

If you have any difficulty in setting up your W-8BEN form for trading US shares then please email the helpdesk with a screenshot to illustrate where you're stuck. 

Trading US shares.png

That arrow needs to be more obvious. I didn't see it and used Commsec instead with no need to fill out a form.

Form done now. 👍

• Like 1

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • General Statistics

• Total Topics
    • Total Posts
    • Total Members
    • Most Online
      10/06/21 10:53

Newest Member
    787Trader
    Joined 06/02/23 06:11