Sign in to follow this  

Highs and Low numbers

Hi I am new to this and bought shares at 950.5 and there up to 1020.0 so far with only a small amount i wanted to try and work out what profit if any there would be if i had say £20,000 in there. I cant seam to find or work the calculators online.

Hi 

There are 2 ways in which you could look at your holdings to see how much profit you have made.

The first way would be to take the £20,000 figure and divide this by the share price of 950.5 (£9.50.5) to give you 2104 shares. You can then use the share price of 1020 (£10.20) multiplied by the amount of shares 2104 to give you £21,460.8 then minus the purchase price to reach your profit figure.

Alternatively a simpler way to put this would be that you are trading 2104 shares which equates to £21.04 per point (number of shares divide by 100) . Then simply multiply this figure by the difference in the 2 prices. I.e. 1020 - 950.5 = 69.5 x 21.04 = 1462.28. 

Hope this helps!

Thanks

Chris

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

• Member Statistics

• Total Topics
    • Total Posts
    • Total Members
    Newest Member
    KRY
    Joined 20/11/19 11:26
    • A demo account should work the same as live, otherwise it is misleading.