Sign in to follow this  

gold market discussion

Caseynotes, I think the volatility in Bitcoin is largely down to the fact that shorting is not available yet. Right now you buy and then sell. When there are more buyers then the price moves upwards but when there are more sellers the price drops. Call it corrections, drops or whatever. Shorting will help Bitcoin be more efficient. Shorting will also help Bitcoin set a more realistic price level whatever that may be and once it is settled in theory it should see a little bit less volatility.

I have been tracking Gold for the past 10 years or so and I just don't think the new generation of younger market wizards want to utilise their capital in gold. I think we are seeing a shift after many years from gold to other alternatives of which part of it is in the likes of Bitcoin amongst other things. I think traditional large banks, Central Governments, etc. are all reducing their exposure to Gold. I accept that the likes of India and China will always be large buyers of Gold due to religious and custom reasons but I think that is now no longer enough to move the Gold price upwards above $2,000.00. I am not so sure even a war would move Gold up to $2,000.00. The reason why Asia is big on Cryptocurrencies is because it does not want to rely on Gold in times of economic certainty or rely on anything that can be manipulated by large powerful Governments.

I am not convinced with Gold at present unless I see evidence from its price action and behaviour. It may well have had its best year in ten but the other side of the story is that it has had poor nine years.

Gold had a big down day yesterday tagging support at 1260, currently not finding many buyers here. A break of 1260 could signal a big move down.

As   points out below, millennials definitely prefer bitcoin. 

XAUUSD(£)Daily0612.png