Sign in to follow this  

Natural gas

The bitter cold weather has caused a spike in the Natural Gas prices. Also a large fall in inventories supported the positive price action for Natural Gas.

Vicky, you ask will it retreat. No one knows the answer for sure. Based on odds and balance of probabilities and using current and historical information Natural Gas active futures yesterday were 10.6%, 6.8%, 6.4%, and 4.2% above their 20-day, 50-day, 100-day, and 200-day moving averages, respectively. However, the 50-day moving average was 2.7% less than the 200-day moving average. That could be bearish for natural gas prices so it could well retreat. 

For me 3260 level has to be crossed for any chance of Natural Gas not retreating. However this is only my opinion. Let's see.

Hi All, 

I'm a commodities trader and have recently entered the realm of NatGas.

I can honestly say, this is one of the most interesting markets that I've traded for years, and can highly endorse the fact that this follows core fundamental economics and the derivative markets do little to slow down the fundamental direction.

It's one of the few markets available now that doesn't follow these silly algorithmic price-action rules, it's a simple case of supply and demand, now and forecast - a simple forecast matrix with a seasonal twist.

My personal forecast for NatGas is Short (based on 6 months of research, price watching, and analysis of how this commodity has reacted over the past 12 years)...

1 week - 2.9 to 3 USD

1 month - 2.7 - 2.9 USD

1 quarter - 2.5 USD

1/2 year (summer) - 2.4

Happy to elaborate my reason but it would definitely take up a LOT of space on this forum, and would be better off writing a blog article in the near future combining all of my research and rationale.

I'll be posting on here regularly with mini summaries as and when i enter trades at certain levels.

I'm also an active EUR/USD and Gold trader, so you'll find me on those forums too :)

D