Overnight Interest

Guest Angribob

Guest Angribob

Hello,

I'm new to spread betting and am currently on a demo account.

Looking at my Transaction History I can see the following:

CHARGES.pngI

I understand that I need to pay overnight interest on my spot bets. However why I am I being credited for the lumber? They are BOTH LONG positions. 

Any insight greatly appreciated. Cheers Bob

Hey  - welcome to Community.

Paying or receiving on an undated commodity is based on the futures curve and whether or not it's upwards or downwards sloping. You can read more on that below, and i've also included a snippet of example over night adjustments on different assets.

Our commodity product enables you to take a cost-effective short-term view on 27 key commodity markets.

The offering works in the same way as an index CFD. And just like an index position, you’ll pay a funding charge for holding your commodity position overnight.

As there are no fixed expiries, we are also able to offer continuous charting on these markets. This means your technical analysis will be available as long as you want it. We have used past data to backdate our charts for the last three to five years, so you can get an accurate historical look.

How do we make our prices?

To price these markets we use two futures contracts on the underlying commodity. For each market we look at the contracts that have sufficient liquidity, then use the two with the nearest expiry dates.

The one that has the closest expiry date is called the front month contract, and is labelled ‘A’ in our diagram. The one with the second-nearest expiry date is called the back month contract and is labelled ‘B’.

As soon as the previous contract expires, the price we offer is equal to the price of ‘A’. When ‘A’ expires, ‘B’ becomes the front month contract, and our price is equal to the price of ‘B’.