Newbie: Market Denominations

DavidHK

Good day everyone,

I am new to trading and would like to get some clarification on how to read share prices in different markets.

1. For companies listed on the FTSE100 are these quoted in pounds? For example, if a company is listed as 56.18 does this mean £0.5618p per share? 
2. For US listed companies is this listed in dollars? For example, if a company is listed as 3855 does this mean $38.55?
3. For other markets, eg Japan 225, German 30, France 40 how are these listed?

I tried to find this information but could not and would be so grateful for any information provided.

Thanks.

Hi @DavidHK,  you will need to check the web site of the  particular exchange the stock is traded on to find how it is listed.

The LSE lists in pence while the Nasdaq and NYSE lists in US Dollars but the broker quote on a platform may break that down even more, 

eg Tesla on the SB platform is 32000.00 which is $320.0000.

Barclays on the SB platform is 172.00 which is £1.7200

Hi I have just had the same question. 

Two things I did to help me.

1. Pretend to place an order - that came up with the currency involved - for example Amazon Inc at approx 1700 was $1700, c.£1300...
  2. Click on the Down Arrow next to the company (its one of the 3/4 icons), there is an option called Get info. Here has lots of useful things to help.

Hope this helps too.

• Thanks 1
2 hours ago, Bates said:

Hi I have just had the same question. 

Two things I did to help me.

1. Pretend to place an order - that came up with the currency involved - for example Amazon Inc at approx 1700 was $1700, c.£1300...
  2. Click on the Down Arrow next to the company (its one of the 3/4 icons), there is an option called Get info. Here has lots of useful things to help.

Hope this helps too.

Hi Bates,