Can no longer buy shares as retails customer due to new rules!

ZD

Greetings.

In the past year I was buying "VelocityShare 3x Long Silver ETN" shares listed in the USA.

Then a few weeks ago I tried to buy some more, but found out that I could only close my position (sell shares) and was unable to buy anymore. I called IG and they told me this was because I was a retail client, and not a professional client, and the new regulations meant that I could not purchase said shares unless I was a professional client. 

My question is, where is the sense in applying new ESMA rules to Shares? In that, I am buying the shares out right, there is no leverage or borrowing? Or am I missing something? 

Thoughts/guidance welcome! 

Thanks in advance.

Join the conversation

You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• General Statistics

• Total Topics
    • Total Posts
    • Total Members
    • Most Online
      10/06/21 10:53

Newest Member
    Peter
    Joined 20/09/21 07:10
    • Wave 3 or C?   https://elliottwave-forecast.com/elliott-wave-theory/#wave-a-b-and-c