Advice on avoiding ESMA restrictions

As a UK resident I'd like to open an IG account & trade a small account with cfd's somewhere outside of ESMA restrictions but am unsure where will be best. Can anyone point me in the direction of an article, forum post or any other info regarding how to make a decision. Does Switzerland have any advantages over say Australia for example? I see Switzerland offers a deposit compensation scheme but Australia doesn't.

Thanks for any help

Are very good question as I will be opening an Aussie account soon?

I guess the advantage is lower margins overall...   Let me know.

TreV  

Good morning,

Can anyone shed some light on this subject, please?

So I have switched to Aussie CFD account however I have noticed when buying stocks I get charged a commission of £10 per trade and I will be liable for tax as well. So what are the benefits compared to spread betting and CFDs?

Hence why I am with CFDs now is because Aussie account does not offer spread betting, will they be bringing that option in soon? 

Regards Trev

@Trevbeats, spread betting is only available in the UK because it takes advantage of specific UK law. Other counties don't have an equivalent law and are unlikely to create one.

The sole advantage of an account outside of ESMA regulation is having a lower margin requirement (higher leverage).   

• Like 1

With regards to having a margin call , and Equity used what percentage does have to go up to before positions are automatically stopped out off ?

22 hours ago, Mtrader9 said:

With regards to having a margin call , and Equity used what percentage does have to go up to before positions are automatically stopped out off ?

I'll add a link to an answer to the same question asked in another thread.

You get a lower margin rate but you can fall into debt to IG.

Bailiffs and repossessions ... not worth it.