Not able to set stop loss for ASX stocks

Guest HYC

Hi guys,

I'm new to IG. Just wondering how to set STOP LOSS for ASX stocks. I couldn't find the order type.

It's a little bit weird I can set STOP LOSS for US stocks.

image.png.636ab9e02fcaa7b80a950c2fc26b1678.png

isn't this something to do with the exchange? 

TBF IG need to sort this out and even if the exchange dont offer stops etc / stop orders to be submitted OOO, they need to take them on their systems and then submit them as soon as market opens. 

Hi all,

I have just made my first trade with my new ISA account. To my surprise it seems that I can't set a stop loss! I am reading on the forum here that it depends on the exchange that the stocks are traded on. I don't get this. I also have an ISA account with X-O which is a very basic trading platform, yet I've never had an issue setting a stop loss whatever the exchange. I thought IG was a market leading platform. How come something this basic has been overlooked??

Can someone tell me how I can see what exchange a stock is being traded on?

I can't see how anyone can recommend this platform without something as basic as the protection of a stop loss.

9 hours ago, HYC said:

I'm new to IG. Just wondering how to set STOP LOSS for ASX stocks. I couldn't find the order type.

17 minutes ago, investor567 said:

I can't see how anyone can recommend this platform without something as basic as the protection of a stop loss.

hi, the share dealing platform is awaiting an upgrade to match the cfd platform and will incorporate a stop loss function though remember a stop loss is just an equal and opposite stop order to the original trade entry order, see top answer on this thread below on how to set a stop loss and limit order for the share dealing platform.

9 minutes ago, investor567 said:

Thanks Casseynotes for the swift reply.

That all looks good but I don't have those menu options on the 'order type' box of the ticket.