Why can't I put a trailing stop?

I'm a new trader too searching about trailing. I came across the same problem. I cannot place an ORDER with a trailing stop. I checked open and closed markets, same restriction. IG only allows a normal or guaranteed stop on an ORDER. However, the option is there for a DEAL. So if you go with a DEAL and accept the market price, you can use a trailing stop, but if you want to set your price first with an ORDER, you can't - doesn't make sense.

Also, you can not combine a guaranteed and trailing stop. That would be great if you could - the features exist, but not together 😞

Ideally I want to combine a guaranteed and trailing stop on an ORDER. That way, I get all benefits of setting a price I think is value, more profits if the market goes my way and certain risk if it doesn't.

Edited by Chargrill
completeness

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • image.png