i I just started futures last week

Guest steadyeddie

Question

Guest steadyeddie

Hi I just started trading futures last week. Have been a long term share and property investor for years and thought I would give it a go as I wanted to import something from Turkey and wondered about a Lira spread. I made $600 and sold in 3 minutes and was hooked.

I tried another firm as I cannot work out how much leverage is on every trade with IG or how much a unit is worth.

Anyway I made $60,000 using that other firm on all sorts of spread using my own intuition. using theirs I lost $40000 so in effect I was up heaps.

However I suspect that they are much more expensive as when I either buy or sell. It is always a few grand or points outside what I placed. They say they do not charge anything. So they do, but it is hidden.

I m using both firms atm trying to compare the net results by placing the same trades. But cannot work out how to place equal trades. Like does any one know using IG what a trade of 5million is? 

Today I have made $15,000 on AU/US in the morning and could have easily made more as I had a stop loss on an old trade that I had placed on an old pending.

Also this other firm seems difficult to retrieve my funds. It is not an instant transfer and Im am staring to get suss.

I also bought some bitcoin a few years back and am laughing now.

Anyway if any one knows the answers to my questions I would be very grateful

1 answer to this question

Guest RobertR

Hi , thanks for getting in touch.

When it comes to comparing other providers, it's very difficult for us to comment on as each company will price their markets in different ways while also having different fees/commissions.

IG try to be as transparent with cost as possible, so hopefully the below information helps to answer your questions.