IG Tool Bar issues - can anyone help me understand this?

Guest bjb007

Screen Shot 2017-11-08 at 11.07.00.png

I am new to IG and have just received the invite to enter the competition to post on here and I guess I am shooting myself in the foot for posting something negative but this is something I really do not understand can exist.  

In short in the UK we pay Stamp Duty and this adds to our purchase price (0.5%) along with the commission we pay IG.   However, for some reason IG do not include this value in the Book Cost.   Consequently the Profit/Loss on your open position does not take these costs into account and so when looking at your Open Position it shows a better P/L position than actually exists?    

When I brought this up I was informed I could edit the Book Cost to include all my costs?   This is is not automation as I know it and really annoying.   On my current position with one stock I have have bought 3 times at different prices and each time I have had to re-calculate the book price in order to get the Profit and Loss calculation to work.

Please can anyone out there provide me with a solution to this nightmare?   

Thanks

Hi,

Welcome to IG community. We take the number of shares x the executed price. This is designed to show the real P/L based on the buy and sell price to avoid any potential confusion. The commission and stamp duty are shown on the trading ledger. We are more than happy to take your feedback and pass it on to the relevant team.

Thanks,

Claire