Complete noob here

Guest Emil

Hi all,

Could you help me out a bit with IG platform use ?

I’ve got practice account with T212but not very happy with them recently. Now I’m here with IG practice account.

On t212 you start with 10k and if you want to open a position with bitcoin you need margin of 6% of the current price of the instrument.

I’ve tried to buy bitcoin on IG (2 contracts) and a message showed I need to deposit 50k more?

Is one contract more than one bitcoin?

Why when I put a stop loss distance of 30 points ( I guess that £30) and my lost is terrifying £6000?

Basically how IG works ?

I was planning to invest £2000 when I get my head around how everything works but by the looks of it my 2k will be not enough.

Thanks in advance for your help

You don't say if you're using CFDs or Spreadbets. I don't use CFD on IG, but I can explain spread betting:

When you place a spread bet, it's done in pounds per point. So using Bitcoin USD as an example, price is around 9600. If you bet £1 per point, you're total position size is 9600 X £1 = £9600.

£5 per point = 9600 x £5 = £48,000

£10 per point = 9600 x £10 = £96,000

Your margin requirement is based on the total position size, with possibly some other factors. You can read up here:

https://www.ig.com/en/charges-and-fees/margins

If a stop at 30 points has a potential loss of £6000, that would be a bet at £200 per point, wow!

(A stop of 30 points is way too close for something volatile like Bitcoin. The spread alone will likely close you out straight away.)

Thank you very much for your help!

That’s what I actually don’t understand. Why t212 is different to IG what type of trading is t212?

What is better cfd or margin trading for bitcoin on IG ?

I've never heard of T212.