Bid/Ask Question

Steven1986

Hi Folks,

I'm fairly new to trading (5-6 months in) and I've managed to do quite well so far but I'm still learning everyday as I go, so i'll get right down to it. 

If you buy into any stock because you've done your research and think it's got great potential, at the time you buy in the spread you pay sits about 5-8 points. So you go long and then over the next week the stock has exploded to the upside jumping up 300 points within that week and still going strong, my main question here is that I want to add to my position to increase the profits as I think the the stock still has more to go but the spread is now sitting at a 30 point difference! 

So what would you guys recommend in this situation, If I even go £1 a point I'm instantly down £30 from a crazy 30 point spread....

Thanks,

Steve

Hi  thanks for your question. I can't advise on whether or not you should add to your position, but I just wanted to give you a run down of how we price out markets on shares. We offer a number of different trading options so there are two sub sections below.

Spread Betting on shares

We pull the exact underlying market price for that stock and wrap a small spread around it (for example on FTSE 100 stock this is 0.1%). This is done in real time and therefore fluctuates against the spread in the underlying market. A wide spread on a stock which you can spread bet on with IG is therefore due to a wide spread in the underlying stocks share price.

CFD, Share Dealing (ISA, SIPP, and regular Stockbroking) on shares.

We take the underlying market price and this is the exact price you deal on. The difference between the buy and sell price maybe wide, however this is due to the underlying market spread. IG then charge a separate commission which is booked separately against your ledger. 

Primary factors for a stock price spread.