Can someone explain these charges?

Guest superdry

Question

Guest superdry

Morning all,

I am new to IG and have a question about the daily FX interest. Sorry if I have posted this in the wrong place...

On my demo account I have charges for daily FX interest for AUD/USD:

04/09- 1 day

07/09- 3 days

08/09- 1 day

11/09- 1 day

The only times that I've left a trade past 10pm was one opened on 31/08 (closed at 23:44) and one opened on 4th (closed on 5th at 01:58). Can someone explain how this works? I know if you hold over a weekend you'd pay 3 days but I haven't done that. Also I don't understand why there are charges come in on the 8th and 11th when the last time I held past 10pm was the 5th!

Sorry if there is a simple answer that I just can't seem to see... Any pointers would be much appreciated.

4 answers to this question

Hi,

I've also been charged fees for trades opened at 9:59pm, which have only been open for a couple of hours at a time;

1. 1 day interest charge

2. 1 day interest charge

3. 4 day interest charge

All these where charged between Monday and Wednesday this week. I've asked IG to look into it and explain why I've been charged like this as it seems to be in breach of their T&C's.

Good luck!

This is the reply from IG explaining the fees. It explains the fees clearly, but I think the level of fees is very high.

The reason for the four day interest is due to how FX trades settle. The majority of FX pairs will settle on a T+2 basis, meaning that trades held through the cut-off time of 10pm UK time on a Wednesday will settle on Friday, and therefore be take into account the weekend as well.

For this reason you'll usually be charged three days interest on a Wednesday night and one day for the other weekdays. The reason for the fourth day in this instance is because it's a public holiday on Monday in Japan. Therefore adding the extra day.