Outlook on Gasoline?

Hi chaps,

I hope you had a wonderful 2018.

Where do you guys think the gasoline price will head? On the chart, it looks like a beautiful downtrend. However, I entered the trade today only to find the price moved up against me. I'm new in energies. Any thought on the causations behind gasoline price movement and any outlook on its future direction?

Thanks!

50695958_Screenshot2018-12-31at16_26_35.thumb.png.83036449b2cb9f76388ddad7174c91cf.png

@PipEvangelist,

Yes thank you and I hope you too had a wonderful 2018. 

When I look at the chart from a 'Daily' timeframe then yes I agree with you totally that it is a beautiful downtrend similar to WTI Crude and Brent Crude Oil charts. Heating Oil and London Gas oil are very similar too so you could have shorted any one of these.

In my opinion the better short has been Natural Gas from a 'point/profit' perspective and 'margin requirement' so cost perspective. The price action in terms of sharp downward move seems stronger too. I am short Natural Gas and if you are interested then you can read my Natural Gas thread rather than me repeating it here. 

I personally think the big chunk of the downward move in all of the above has occurred. Yes there may still be a little more downward movement but any new trade would incur added risk of a trend reversal, relief rally, short covering rally, some serious profit taking amplifying the move upwards, etc. 

When looking at the monthly chart you one could argue that it could go down further to the 12000's. On the weekly chart one could argue it could even go down to the 10000's. On the daily chart the move is beginning to look exhausted. Now these are just personal opinions. The truth is I simply do not know what is going to happen to the future price direction of Gasoline or any of the other 'Energy' Commodities.

How did you come to the decision of entering a short on Gasoline now? What made you wait this long? Why Gasoline over the other 'Energies?