Order System Error

ToffAppleton

Question

I’ve been with IG for 4 years and I’m a regular trader. I’ve made 325 trades in the past 12 months on my share dealing account. 
Everything worked well until I placed a good til canceled limit order last Friday. The order was filled the following Monday but part of the order stayed on the system. It didn’t execute but it took four days and endless hours of phone calls before it was finally removed yesterday. 

This wouldn’t have bothered me, but an unsettled cash debit for this order has been taken from my cash account balance. They have taken money for a trade that doesn’t exist. 
i accept technical issues happen and this was a system error, but what I can’t accept is their inability and length of time they’re taking to put things rights and pay the money back into my account. This incident has really shaken my faith in IG - the bond of trust between client and provider has been broken. 

Has anyone else on here had a similar experience? 
and if so how long did it take to resolve? 

AC5E57A7-8EFC-4FF3-A96F-1ECE6674B36A.png

1 answer to this question

On 21/05/2021 at 15:09, ToffAppleton said:

I’ve been with IG for 4 years and I’m a regular trader. I’ve made 325 trades in the past 12 months on my share dealing account. 
Everything worked well until I placed a good til canceled limit order last Friday. The order was filled the following Monday but part of the order stayed on the system. It didn’t execute but it took four days and endless hours of phone calls before it was finally removed yesterday. 

This wouldn’t have bothered me, but an unsettled cash debit for this order has been taken from my cash account balance. They have taken money for a trade that doesn’t exist.