Technical Analysis

Hi ,  are you sure swing trading is not just about catching the 'swing', no matter the time frame whether it be 1 hour or 1 month, or whether it be based on Elliott wave ABC, or even just 'buy the dip'. As an intraday trader I am always looking for swings, it is the rhythm of the auction.

There are only trend followers (as am I) or reversal (counter trend) traders who are looking at predefined levels for price to reverse at, but trend followers are by far the majority.

The interesting point of the blog was drawing attention to a potential price action signalling to a turn of swing and entry to join a continuation with trend.

The inside bars show indecision similar to a doji but the twin tails show a real attempt to drive to new direction, if that tight tight grouping of price action (in that particular situation) is overwhelmed (by bulls or bears) it is a good indication to the direction of next leg. 

I was happy to post it as I recognised it to have validity based on my own experience and is well worth to experimenting with by traders on all time frames. 

Fair enough, I think essentially we all trade the same way which ever time frame you choose. Investors buy and hold but traders buy and sell and so would aim to buy low and sell high, during a trend that means taking advantage of the down swings in order to ride the upswings but each time frame has it's own rhythm within the large scale swings that can be seen on a monthly chart. The time frame a trader uses depends very much on circumstance and preference.

Counter trend traders are also trying to buy low and sell high by using higher time frames to identify potential turn points that have been used in the past by institutional traders and where unfilled orders may still exist, a large clump of waiting orders on a price ladder is support or resistance.

For any new traders reading, this is an interesting piece on choosing which time frame suits best,