Force guaranteed stops?

Guest Lenny
Message added by JamesIG

This thread contains an account type known as "Limited Risk". Due to regulatory changes this account type no longer applies for European countries. If you have any questions relating to this, or wish to continue the discussion, please start a new thread. 

Question

Hi,

I just started trading and found my first trade blocked because it had guaranteed stops.

I can't seem to turn off guaranteed stops on my live account, but the demo account doesn't have this restriction.

Is there a way I can remove it so I can place my trade?

Thanks

4 answers to this question

Hi Lenny, thanks for the post!

It sounds like your account has been set up as a Limited Risk account, which means that you are obliged to use guaranteed stops on any trade, in order to fully manage your risk.  Most markets permit guaranteed stops (controlled risk), but certain ones cannot have them attached - such as more volatile or less liquid markets - and as such you might find that you are unable to place some positions.

If you would like to discuss the possibility of changing your account type to one which does not enforce guaranteed stops, our New Business team would be happy to talk about this with you.  You can reach them on 0800 195 3100.

If you have any more questions about account types or controlled risk just let us know!

Thanks,

Hannah

Have a question? Try searching the community to see if it has already been answered.

Thanks Hannah,

I'm not sure why that would have been, I certainly didn't ask for it, so I guess I'll see how much this prohibits my trading and then call if it's preventing me doing anything useful.

Andy

Guest svparker1

Hi there

I have also just set up an avcount and IG have imposed a 1.5 point stop obn the account.

what will this mean exactly